The Bayly Prize 2022 Shortlist

In 2022 the Society received 19 submissions from 9 universities in the United Kingdom which were considered by the panel of adjudicators consisting of Professor Susanne Brandtstädter (Köln), Dr. Benjamin Hopkins (Birmingham  ), Dr. Rian Thum (Manchester ), Professor Magnus Marsden (Sussex) and Professor Odd Arne Westad (Yale).


The panel drew up a shortlist of four. The finalists are (in alphabetical order):

  • Dr. Katie Campbell (Cambridge), Cities and the Mongol Conquest: Urban Change 1200-1400
  • Dr. Taushif Kara (Cambridge), Abode of Peace: Islam, empire and the Khoja diaspora
  • Dr. Melyn McKay (Oxford), For women there are two Nirvanas: Risk and Freedom in Myanmar’s contemporary Buddhist revival movement
  • Dr. Sonia Wigh (Exeter), The Body of Words: A social history of sex and the body in early modern South Asia
  • Dr. Matthew Woolgar( Oxford), Communism in Context: The Indonesian Communist Party in West Java

The winner will be announced by the end of October and an award ceremony will be held later in the year at the Society.

The Appeal for funds remains open to enable the Prize to be put on a sustainable long-term footing. Contributions can be made through the Royal Asiatic Society’s website at following page: