The Bayly Prize 2023 Shortlist


The Society is very pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2023 Bayly Prize for a distinguished thesis on an  Asian subject from a British or Irish University. The prize was established to honour the work of Professor Sir Christopher Bayly (1945-2015). We would like to thank the judges for their careful consideration of each submission: Professor Benjamin Hopkins (George Washington University), Professor Susanne Brandtstädter (Koln), Professor Magnus Marsden (Sussex), Dr Rian Thum (Manchester), and Professor Nile Green (UCLA).




Dr. Thomas Barrett, University of Oxford, Foreigners and the Making of the Chinese Diplomat


Dr. Kelsey Granger, University of Cambridge, Gifts from afar: The Creation of an Imperial Lapdog in Tang-Song China


Dr. Mariano Errichiello, School of Oriental and African Studies, IIme Ksnum: an Esoteric Interpretation of Zoroastrianism, History and Beliefs


Dr Yui Chim Lo, University of Oxford, Imagining the Continent’s Future: China, India and Post-War Asia, 1937-1949


The Appeal for funds remains open to enable the Prize to be put on a sustainable long-term footing. Contributions can be made through the Royal Asiatic Society’s website at following page: