The Bayly Prize

The Bayly Prize 2019 Shortlist

In 2019 the Society received 26 submissions from 11 universities in the United Kingdom which were considered by the panel of adjudicators consisting of Professor Taylor Sherman (LSE), Professor Sunil Amrith (Harvard), Professor James Laidlaw (Cambridge), Professor Rebecca Empson (UCL) and Professor Naoko Shimizu (Yale-NUS).

The panel drew up a shortlist of four. The finalists are (in alphabetical order):

  • Dr. Radha Kapuria (KCL), Music in Colonial Punjab: A Social History
  • Dr. Ahmad Moradi (Manchester), Politics of Persuasion: Making and Unmaking Revolution in Iran
  • Dr. Sahil Nijhawan (UCL), Human-animal relations and the role of cultural norms in tiger conservation in the Idu Mishmi of Arunachal Pradesh, India
  • Lexi (Alexandra) Stadlen (LSE), Weaving lives from Violence: Possibility and Change for Muslim Women in West Bengal

The winner will be announced by Lyndal Roper, Regius Professor of Modern History at the University of Oxford, at a reception held at the Royal Asiatic Society on Tuesday 29th October at 6.30pm.

The Appeal for funds remains open to enable the Prize to be put on a sustainable long-term footing. Contributions can be made through the Royal Asiatic Society’s website at following page: