The Bayly Prize

The Bayly Prize 2018 Shortlist

For the inaugural Bayly Prize the society appointed a distinguished international panel of adjudicators: Professor Taylor Sherman (LSE), Professor Sunil Amrith (Harvard), Professor Dame Caroline Humphrey (Cambridge), Professor James Laidlaw (Cambridge), and Professor Naoko Shimazu (Yale-NUS).

In total, the society received 30 high-quality PhD dissertations from 12 British universities. From these submissions the adjudicators have drawn a shortlist of the five most outstanding:

Kyle Jackson (University of Warwick)
Colonial Conquest and Religious Entanglement: A Mizo History from Northeast India (c. 1890-1920)

Johannes Lotze (University of Manchester)
Translation of Empire: Mongol Legacy, Language Policy, and the Early Ming World Order, 1368-1453

Ed Pulford (University of Cambridge)
On northeast Asian Frontiers of History and Friendship

Partha Pratim Shil (University of Cambridge)
Police labour and state-formation in Bengal, c. 1860 – c. 1950

Callie Wilkinson (University of Cambridge)
The Residents of the British East India Company at Indian Royal Courts, c. 1798-1818

The winner will be announced by Professor Sir David Cannadine, president of the British Academy, at a reception held at the Royal Asiatic Society on Tuesday 30th October and announced on our website soon after.