The Bayly Prize 2022 Shortlist


In 2022 the Society received 19 submissions from 9 universities in the United Kingdom which were considered by the panel of adjudicators consisting of Professor Susanne Brandtstädter (Köln), Dr. Benjamin Hopkins (Birmingham  ), Dr. Rian Thum (Manchester ), Professor Magnus Marsden (Sussex) and Professor Odd Arne Westad (Yale).


The panel drew up a shortlist of five. The finalists are (in alphabetical order):

The winner will be announced by the end of October and an award ceremony will be held later in the year at the Society.

The Appeal for funds remains open to enable the Prize to be put on a sustainable long-term footing. Contributions can be made through the Royal Asiatic Society’s website at following page: